Someone please tell me why an ideology that we went to war with is being met with silence by our commander in chief, but the modern-day version of a movement that spurred us towards true equality in American culture is demonized by him and his party.

I could stop this post right here. However, I feel unsatisfied with letting loose such little.

 

Donald J. Trump, whether I like to admit it or not, has awakened the senile beast of racism, whose vestiges have been planted so deep into our roots and ingrained so subtly–but firmly–in our collective subconscious that we were (are) taken aback by it. This began with his presidential campaign’s launch in 2015, as the title says. 2015 is also the year, in my memory, that the BLM movement started to gain traction as more black people’s deaths were publicized.

I’ll pause here for a sec: for those who know me in real life, y’all know I’m pretty anti-BLM. Readers and friends alike, know that my opposition to racial movement is NOT equivalent to my opposition to an entire race of Man. I am NOT against black people and BLACK LIVES DO MATTER. However, I’m yet to come into the throngs of the Movement for a couple of reasons, those which are not the topic at hand, nor something I see myself writing about in the near future.

(inb4 uber-libs from QB start accusing me of anti-black racist sentiments because they can’t detach their identities from FACEBOOK debates)

Back to the topic: a lot of black people in America die at the hands of police forces. Some deserved it (inb4 no one deserves to die BS), some did not (not here to argue if this or that was more or less). Some were purposely killed, others accidentally, and so on and so forth. I don’t know exact statistics. I do know a few things though: white police officers ought to stay away from incidents involving black citizens and most police forces in this nation need to train their officers better.

Earlier this night (or morn, rather) I was reading an article in which the writer purported that the Glock handgun was a cause of the accidental shootings. He wrote along the lines of “no safety” and “depressing the trigger while breaking down the gun.” Overtly: sure, I’ll give him that much. The mishandling of Glock handguns–which they are quite prone to–has led to the deaths of both civilians and LEOs. But that has nothing to do with Glocks: just about every gun goes “bang” when a round is chambered and the trigger is pulled. What it does have to do with is substandard trigger discipline.

Image result for get your booger hook off the bang switch

A major tenet of weapon safety ascribed in a mediocre meme

With officers on a force properly trained to where their index fingers never finger their guns’ triggers unless someone needs to die, then comes the race issue. The solution to this, from my broad understanding of our police brutality dilemma, lies in community policing. It’s really not that difficult to do: police communities with members from that community! In my suburban Muslim community, my county’s Constable has liaised with us through a Muslim officer. He did the same with an Asian community using Asian officers and, well, white people all relate to a shared experience in one way or another. Similarly, black people all relate to a shared experience in one way or another. And that’s what every disagreement boils down to, parties not identifying with one another and the incident escalating from there. Simply sharing a skin color or a religion or an ethnicity DOES denote this identification (muh identity politics). No white officers in an overwhelmingly black, anti-police neighborhood could be an easy fix.

Identifying with one another seems to be the root of all ills in our human experience. The human experience is vast and varied. Which is understandable to me: we’ve been around for thousands of years and are the most populous species on an entire planet that itself ranges in climate, terrain, and time era. In response to today’s neo-Nazi, neo-KKK protests of Virginian architecture removal, I commented this on a Facebook thread about laws being passed to legalize assaults on neo-Nazis:
“The human experience is insanely skewed based on one’s upbringing and environment. Those who are fervent enough to rally must believe in their causes with some finite level of certainty: they truly believe they’re right (not everyone but exceptions to everything). I truly believe they’re wrong as do you. But the law is derived from a quasi-moral, semi-democratic set of ethics that are relatively detached from this extreme variation of human experiences and hence relatively neutral.”

 

It seems a convenient way to write off many spits on morality. But it rings true. Regardless of what we tell ourselves, we don’t have an objective, universal moral compass and/or ethics code. I mean there are ideas that have been proposed by many-a-Man, purportedly from the Creator (I’m Muslim so my morality is Islamicentric, but I’m American so my ethics are classical liberal), but there is no global religion that everyone follows. The only thing every Man ever borne and deceased has in common is their DNA. A part from that we are ever-evolving creatures that vary from hour-to-hour in our moods, let alone day-to-day or era-to-era in our politics and morals.

I think this post got a little long. I also know that tomorrow is going to be rough day resulting from the sleep deprivation that will ensue once this is published.

I pray to God that these slightly-intellectual practices of my writing do me good in this world and the Next. Amen.

One thought on “America, 2015-present

Leave a Reply

